Friday, November 17, 2017

Of Dreams and Dragons Book Tour and Giveaway for a $50 Amazon Gift Card or Swag Pack


Of Dreams and Dragons
by Karpov Kinrade
Genre: YA Epic Fantasy

From USA Today bestselling author, Karpov Kinrade, Of Dreams and Dragons begins an incredible tale of magic and wonder and love. For fans of Throne of Glass, Harry Potter, and Game of Thrones, experience a story of epic proportions.

The day darkness descends into my life begins like any other. 

Taking care of the kids I call my own. Fighting fires in my small Northern California town. How could I have known evil walked my streets and would soon rip apart my world? 

But death comes for us all, and when a stranger with mysterious abilities shows up demanding payment for a promise I never made, I refuse. When he kidnaps my baby sister, I fight back. 

And I discover the power of the dragons within me. 

Now, I must leave everything behind and travel to a world of magic and wonder in order to train with a charismatic dragon lord, in the hopes that one day… 

I can save my sister. 

Or make her killer pay with blood. 

But nothing in this world is what it appears. And my closest friends are keeping secrets from me. 

Secrets that could tear the worlds apart.

"Absolutely amazing!" – Kayla Erickson ★★★★★

"A book I would read again and again" – Alyssa Williams ★★★★★

"run out and grab a copy" - Mindy S ★★★★★

"Karpov Kinrade's words are magic, painting a picture in your mind that stays forever." - Courtney Cole, New York Times bestselling author






An Excerpt from Of Dreams and Dragons

Out of darkness was born the first dragon, Alandel, and she had nine children. Nir and Gai, Ava and Inf, Heln and Spri, Var and Min and Undi. When their mother died, the elder dragons divided her body amongst themselves. Var took her flame. Min took her blood. Undi her eyes, and Spri her wings. Inf took her scales and Gai her bones. Ava took her heart and Heln her spirit. And last Nir took her mind. And with what they took, each elder dragon formed a world for themselves, and so the Nine Worlds were born.

Nir, however, was not content with simply land. Why have land but no one to share it with, he asked? And so, using the last pieces of Alandel’s mind, he created mankind. He treated them as his children, and taught them how to master fire, how to tame water, how to grow crops and build homes. Nir enjoyed people so much, he took their form often for himself, and one day, even fell in love with a woman. They bore three children together, the first High Dragons, blood of both dragon and man.

It was not long until the other elder dragons grew jealous of Nir and his children. They too wanted the company of people, and so they approached Nir, asking for people of their own. The elder dragon Nir said he would let his children decide whether they wanted to live in other worlds or not.

Gai, who had taken her mother’s bones, had built a large world full of mountains and seas and rivers and lakes, and some people said they would go to her world. Ava had built a world of flying islands and deep caves, and some people too said they would go there to live. Other people preferred other worlds. But Var had built a world of fire, and Min a world of ice, and no people chose to join them there. The two elder dragons grew furious. If they could not have mankind on their worlds, they said, then they would take the other worlds for themselves. And so, a great war began.

For millennium, the elder dragons battled each other, until it is said only Nir, the smartest, and Var, the strongest, remained. The two were equal on the field of battle, and so Nir devised a plan. We can continue for another millennium, said Nir, and accomplish nothing, or we can divide the worlds between us and have peace. But there are Nine Worlds, said Var. How do we divide them fairly?

We split one world in half, said Nir, and each take one side. Var agreed.

And so the elder dragons met on the world of Ava, and together they prepared to cast a powerful spell to split the world in two. We stand on different sides of this river, said Nir, for this river is in the middle of this world, and this way it will be fair. Var agreed. And so they cast the spell. A giant blade of light fell from the sky to tear the world in two, but it did not fall upon the river, for you see, Nir had lied. The river did not split the world in half, instead it was the field that Var now stood upon. And thus the blade of light fell upon Var himself, tearing his body, instead of the world, in two.

What Nir did not know however, was that Var was pregnant, and when Var died, from his stomach spilled a thousand dragons. They spread throughout the worlds, killing mankind and feeding off their Spirits. In days, almost all the people were dead, and so Nir did the only thing he could. He used all his strength to draw the dragons together and cast a wall of light around them, cutting them off from Spirit and man. So powerful was the spell, that Nir gave his own life to cast it. And so, the final elder dragon died to save his children, and the age of the Ancients ended. But some say Nir is not dead, just asleep, regaining his strength, and when mankind needs him once more, the elder dragon will awaken.

***

Kaden pauses, letting his words sink in.

His mythology is so different from the ones I grew up hearing. It reminds me of a children’s fable more than real history, and it would be easy to call it trivial. But I’ve seen too much dismiss the fantastical anymore. And I have a feeling I'm about to see a lot more.

Kaden stands and throws on his long black coat. “I can see the questions in your eyes," he says, "but it is time. The stars are aligned.” He holds out his hand to me, and I take it, and he guides me to a fountain amidst the olive trees. The shallow water shimmers in the light, casting our pale reflections back at us. Kaden pulls a coin from his pocket and flips it in the fountain, and the surface of the waves changes. Where once the water seemed shallow, it now seems of infinite depth. Where once it seemed chaotic, it now seems as still as a mirror. And where once the stars seemed but a reflection, they now seem to shine from beyond the waves.

“Are you ready?” asks Kaden.

I nod.

And together we jump into the fountain.







Karpov Kinrade is the pen name for the husband and wife entertainment duo Lux and Dmytry Karpov-Kinrade, aka The KK Duo. 

Together, they write award-winning, internationally and USAT bestselling books, make music, create art, write screenplays and direct -- all the things. 

Look for more from Karpov Kinrade in the Vampire Girl series, The Nightfall Chronicles and The Forbidden Trilogy. If you’re looking for their suspense and romance titles, you’ll find those under Alex Lux. 

Check out their music by clicking on the Music tab. 

They live in wine country California with their three offspring who have crazy creative genius oozing out of them in the form of music, art, performance, and all the things, and too many cats who all think they rule the world (spoiler alert: they do).



Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!






21 comments:

  1. Congratulations on your new release, I loved the excerpt! Good luck on the tour and thank you for the awesome giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love fantasy reads and this sounds like a read I'll truly enjoy.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sounds like a mysterious and great book.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sounds like a story to get lost in. Thank you for the excerpt and giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I like a good fantasy from time to time-on my TBR for sure!

    ReplyDelete
  6. It sounds like a great fantasy book – the plot really intrigues me!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Looks like it will be a interesting story. I look forward to reading this.

    ReplyDelete
  8. The book sounds awesome and I can't wait to read it.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Of Dreams and Dragons looks like an exciting book to read.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Congrats on your New Release ! I am looking forward to reading this book !

    ReplyDelete
  11. sounds like a fun one

    ReplyDelete
  12. I love vampire books. How do you come up with new characters?

    ReplyDelete
  13. This sounds like an awesome book I would love to read

    ReplyDelete
  14. Looks like an interesting book.
    Thanks for the contest. 
    slehan at juno dot com

    ReplyDelete
  15. How many hours a day do you write?

    ReplyDelete
  16. The book looks like a really interesting read!

    ReplyDelete
  17. This looks like a great story. Will be on to To Read list for sure!

    ReplyDelete
  18. It looks like a good book and an interesting cover.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Thanks for the great giveaway!
    The book lokks absolutely amazing! I would really like to read it!

    ReplyDelete
  20. It sounds like a great read. Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  21. I like the cover and seems like it would be a good read.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for your comment. All comments are moderated and will go live after approval.